Hugh Crocker Scholarship

Every year, FESAus awards the Hugh Crocker Scholarship to a full time MSc or PhD student in Australia, who is undertaking a project: with relevance to Formation Evaluation, and that has strong scholastic merit.

Students undertaking projets in the following areas of study are encouraged to apply:

  • Reservoir Characterisation
  • Seismic-based Geophysics
  • Geomechanics
  • Petrophysics
  • Unconventional Resources
  • Sedimentology
  • … or anything related to Formation Evaluation.

Applications are judged on technical merit, quality of submission and the potential of the candidate’s overall contribution to and impact on the formation evaluation community.

The recipient receives a substantial monetary award, and the opportunity to present the project at the FESAus monthly technical meeting.

The Hugh Crocker Scholarship was last awarded in 2014.

For any clarifications, contact:

Previous winners of the Hugh Crocker Scholarship:

  • 2015-18: Not awarded.
  • 2014: Mojtaba Rajabi, from the University of Adelaide, for his research on “Present Day Stress Field Australia”
  • 2013: Michael Gray, from the Australian School of Petroleum (University of Adelaide) for his research on “Evaluation of seal potential for carbon dioxide storage in the present day near-shore coastal zone: Gippsland Basin, Australia.”.
  • 2012: Igor Shikov, from the University of New South Wales, for his research on “The use of Low Field NMR for Unconventional Resources”.
  • 2011: Medhi Alizadeh, from the University of New South Wales, in support of his research on “Numerical Rock Physics: an Image-Based Analysis of Stress-Dependent Permeability of Analog Reservoir Rocks”.
  • 2010: Sefer Yanici, PhD candidate at the University of New South Wales, in support of his research on “Understanding non-Archie Behaviour at low water saturations using micro-CT analysis and Laboratory experiments”.  Sefer presented an overview of his research at the FESAus Technical Meeting in Perth, on 1st March 2011.
  • 2009: Alon Arad, PhD Candidate at the Australian National Univesity (ANU) Research School of Earth Sciences, in support of his on-going research on Finite element modeling of geophysical and petrophysical properties of reservoir core.  His award was presented at the SPWLA-2010 Conference in Perth.
  • 2008: Judith McRobb, of the University of Adelaide, for her work on Improved Interpretation of Cooper Basin Facies.
  • 2007: Megan Halbert, of the Curtin University of Technology School of Science and Technology, for work on Rock Physics Workflows & Inversion Feasibility Templates.
Scroll to top