Hugh Crocker Scholarship_RET140819

Every year, FESAus awards the Hugh Crocker Scholarship to a full time MSc or PhD student in Australia, who is undertaking a project: with relevance to Formation Evaluation, and that has strong scholastic merit.

Students undertaking projets in the following areas of study are encouraged to apply:

  • Reservoir Characterisation
  • Seismic-based Geophysics
  • Geomechanics
  • Petrophysics
  • Unconventional Resources
  • Sedimentology
  • … or anything related to Formation Evaluation.

Applications are judged on technical merit, quality of submission and the potential of the candidate’s overall contribution to and impact on the formation evaluation community.

The recipient receives a substantial monetary award (currently AUD 5,000), and the opportunity to present the project at the FESAus monthly technical meeting.

The FESAus Committee is currently actively looking at awarding the Scholarship again in 2012.

To apply for the scholarship: fill in the application form and submit to 

Applications close: 14th Sept 2012

Shortlisted applicants will be invited to present (5-10 mins) at the FESAus October Meeting on 9th October 2012.

Full details on this flyer. Please distribute it widely!

For any clarifications: 

Previous winners of the Hugh Crocker Scholarship:

  • 2011: Medhi Alizadeh, from the University of New South Wales, in support of his research on “Numerical Rock Physics: an Image-Based Analysis of Stress-Dependent Permeability of Analog Reservoir Rocks”.
  • 2010: Sefer Yanici, PhD candidate at the University of New South Wales, in support of his research on “Understanding non-Archie Behaviour at low water saturations using micro-CT analysis and Laboratory experiments”.  Sefer presented an overview of his research at the FESAus Technical Meeting in Perth, on 1st March 2011, available for viewing via webcast.
  • 2009: Alon Arad, PhD Candidate at the Australian National Univesity (ANU) Research School of Earth Sciences, in support of his on-going research on Finite element modeling of geophysical and petrophysical properties of reservoir core.  His award was presented at the SPWLA-2010 Conference in Perth.
  • 2008: Judith McRobb, of the University of Adelaide, for her work on Improved Interpretation of Cooper Basin Facies.
  • 2007: Megan Halbert, of the Curtin University of Technology School of Science and Technology, for work on Rock Physics Workflows & Inversion Feasibility Templates.
Scroll to top